gardens4you.ieReviews

: 4,316Good

4.36

Trustmark
Valid

with Buyer Protection

Trustmark
Valid

with Buyer Protection

certified since: Mar 8, 2013
updated on: Feb 7, 2023
gardens4you.ie is checked and certified according to the Trusted Shops quality criteria
  • Verified identity
  • Protection of personal data
  • Clear ordering process

Secured by a guarantee

At gardens4you.ie, you can use the guarantee from Trusted Shops and protect up to €2,500. Find out more


certified since: Mar 8, 2013
updated on: Feb 7, 2023
gardens4you.ie is checked and certified according to the Trusted Shops quality criteria
  • Verified identity
  • Protection of personal data
  • Clear ordering process

Secured by a guarantee

At gardens4you.ie, you can use the guarantee from Trusted Shops and protect up to €2,500. Find out more

Reviews for gardens4you.ie

1,163 verified reviews in the last 12 months

4,316 total reviews
This is how we ensure that reviews come from real consumers.

the most relevant positive review


Apr 9, 2022
There is nothing not to like about 'gardens4you.ie'. The plants were so fresh looking. The service was fast. The packing really impressed me as they not only had such a strong box, but it was divided so as to protect the more fragile plants.On top of this the prices were great, but something that I really, really appreciated (because I am a bit of a novice on plants & don't know one from another ) was the fact that for each plant that I had purchased, they enclosed a sheet explaining exactly how to plant each item along with a photo so that I knew which was which.Before I got my parcel I was thinking that I would have to go back on the website to see which plant was which and what to do with it, but this page saved me all of that bother, so I was delighted to find this sheet enclosed.I definitely give this company full marks all round and am saving up to buy some more plants.
Report review

Show all positive reviews

the most relevant critical review


Aug 25, 2022
In a nutshell: two out of four plants I received were diseased (the other two are in quarantine waiting to see if they are also diseased) and customer service was rude and argumentive when I tried to ask for my money back (which I did after I had to threaten legal action and lateral flow tests to prove the diseased status of the plants, why is it always a battle?). The customer service in question replied from the UK, the plants came from the Netherlands, I ordered from gardens4you (dot) ie. To get a response from The UK was bizarre as it's through an IE website and I will certainly be reporting gardens4you for using an IE website to "weare" (dot) ie and the relevant authorities for abusing Irish internet infrastructure and cyberspace. I am also calling out the nursery (ies?) in the Netherlands for their obvious poor care of plants and the many holes in gardens4you in general's Standard Operating Procedures and Policies I can immediately digress from my experience. I tried to bring this to their attention and resolve the dispute quietly but after the experience with the UK customer service and no response from Melvin Jansen who I tried to contact I am now bringing this to the public's attention. Save your money DO NOT buy with Gardens4you, buy local or nationally (most local/national stores are happy to order more exotic plants for you), and support the Irish economy. We as an Irish customer base deserve better than the poor service from the Netherlands and rude customer service from The UK.
Report review

Show all critical reviews

Reviews for gardens4you.ie

Sort by Latest first 
(36)
(104)
 Verified review
13 days ago
Items arrived damaged.
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
12 days ago
We are sorry to hear via Trusted shops that some items arrived damaged. Please take some photos and contact ASAP our customer service we will be happy to solve the problem, the ordered plants are 100% guaranteed.
 Verified review
Jan 15, 2023
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
Jan 16, 2023
Such a low score must have some explanation. We can't find any mail from you in our system. If you were disappointed with your order, which we regret, please take some pictures and contact our customer service department. We will be happy to help you, especially since the products purchased are 100% guaranteed until May 1, 2023.
 Verified review
Jan 10, 2023
The plants came completely messed with reduced compost. The trees were smaller than measures and photos and one of them was only 3 twigs. Pots were good quality.
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
Jan 10, 2023
We are sincerely sorry to hear that you are disappointed with the items received. Please send photos evidence to our customer service we will be happy to come back to you with some appropriate solution in accordance with our guarantee. Do not worry all orders placed on our website are 100% guaranteed.
 Verified review
Dec 8, 2022
The plants took along time to come. When they arrived they were dried out and all over the boxes. Some of them were broken beyond repair due to poor transportation
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
Dec 9, 2022
According to the photos received the 2 small plants have been damaged in transit what we sincerely regret but these 2 plants can still be saved. A full refund have been made €16.90 for those 2 plantes. We also gave you a refund of €2.84 for the Areca palm (in order to buy some new potting soil, what we think is honest and fair) the plant lost a little bit of soil but which does not show any damage on your pictures despite your insistence to get a full refund, which we regret because as we have informed you our indoor plants are always guaranteed for 2 months and you can always come back to our customer service in case of a problem with an article.
 Verified review
Nov 26, 2022
One of the plants looks very poorly
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
Nov 29, 2022
After your email from this weekend we came back to you this morning Monday. As we saw it the plant has obviously suffered from the cold and the 4ºC we had here in Holland. Alocacia polly are beautiful plants but sensitive to the cold the large leaves are made of 80% water and plant fiber, since it was not possible to replace the plant due the cold we have arranged the refund €11.95.
 Verified review
Nov 14, 2022
Very slow delivery
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
Nov 15, 2022
After shipping delivery is about 4-5 working days weekends and bank holidays not included. The order was shipped the 08/11/2022 at night and delivered today by dpd as usual: 14.11.2022 15:48 LIMERICK (IE) Delivered. 14.11.2022 15:10 LIMERICK (IE) Out for delivery. 08.11.2022 20:29 Vijfhuizen (NL) In transit. 08.11.2022 17:50 DPD data centre Order information has been transmitted to DPD. We sincerely regret your negative comment when you simply did not take note on our site of the delivery times we advertise.
 Verified review
Nov 5, 2022
The most unprofessional experience I've ever had. Received plants in spring that were supposed to be plug plants, young specimen but were obviously very old and had bern kept in the pots a year too long and had gotten woody. They were nothing like the sane type of plabt i had previously recieved from them. I couldn't plant them so I asked to return for a refund and they were not forthcoming eventually they agreed. I told they they could puck up the plants as I needed to buy new ones. They said they couldn't afford to pick them up. I placed an order this week, they cancelled it twice without any correspondence and when I enquired I got a nasty letter from them telling me they wouldn't sell to me because I forced the guarantee, demanded a refunding and kept the products. I used the guarantee this offer and now they have blacklisted me. The email and all the transactions have been poorly eroded and very unprofessional
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
Nov 7, 2022
Your last complaint about the lavender was unfounded. We asked you to wait at least 2 months in order to see the growth of these plants which for a scorching summer with more than 30ºC were not in the catastrophic state that you described. You refused to wait and refused to return the merchandise and therefore openly contested our guarantee as well as the terms and conditions of our site that you had accepted (strange when the plants were guaranteed for 1 year, i.e. until 08/06/2023). You forced a refund of €28.50 not to mention the threats of leaving negative reviews all over the net and on your blog that talks about plants. We assume 100% our choice and wish you good luck for your purchases on the net but especially to the competition that will welcome you.
 Verified review
Nov 5, 2022
My delivery arrived with plants out of their pots and stick broken. Delivery not great.
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
Nov 7, 2022
We are sincerely sorry to hear that, take pictures of the box and of the product please and contact our customer service we can then return to the carrier DPD and open an official complaint we do it systematically in case of bad delivery. Even if the products themselves are not damaged it is important to report any packages that arrive damaged so that we can forward the information to the 22 countries where we ship.
 Verified review
Nov 2, 2022
I ordered geraniums and I received a dead brown floppy plant. When contacting the customer service about it, they were unwilling to replace the plant or refund me.
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
Nov 4, 2022
As informed Geranium are summer plants when you order them end of October beginning of November the plant do non longer exist at the level of the ground which is normal for plants cultivated in accordance with the seasons since our plants are cultivated outside all the year we do not sell plants cultivated under heated greenhouses. The roots are alive the plant will start its cycle again in mid-April it is important to plant it with complete soil and to protect the top of the soil with a mulch or dead leaves. Your comment is unfortunately untrue because you also asked for a full refund of the order which included 2 Gaultheria Procumbens, 1 aubrietia, 1 rhododendron and 1 geranium for a total amount of €45.50 including shipping. The fact that you don't know the plants is not a problem in itself we are here to provide you with all the explanations you need and our assistance. However, the fact of denigrating a company, its customer service or a product by the only lack of knowledge is not good, as a reminder, the 4 seasons in Europe are part of the plant cycle.
 Under review
Oct 14, 2022
Well the plant ha s not yet been delivered and since making the order my personal details have been hacked. It may not be your site or security but it’s the only new thing I’ve done disclosing my contact details.
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
Oct 14, 2022
Your parcel is out of delivery today 14/10/2022 you received per mail the tracking. Your parcel was shipped the 10/10/2022 as you know delivery to Ireland is about 4-5 working days weekend and bank holidays not included. Trusted shops does not ask you to write a review before you receive your order. You can keep the email aside while you wait for the parcel to arrive, we kindly ask you to use common sense. Regarding the site and the security problem Your accusations are serious and are based on unfounded assumptions. We will immediately report this to Trusted Shop. Our site is 100% secure and our banking partner Multisafepay uses encrypted transactions, You may well have created this problem yourself by surfing the web or clicking on various links via malware.
 Verified review
Aug 31, 2022
they sent out dead plants, then refused to replace them.
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
Sep 1, 2022
All plants have a season of growth and decline where their visual aspect decreases with the arrival of autumn. It is not necessary to believe that a hot and extremely dry summer has been beneficial to plants, the extreme heat has only accentuated the visual aspect of these plants which in late August already have autumn foliage and that in all gardens this year. The plants received are not dead and are 1 year guaranteed.
 Verified review
Aug 29, 2022
What a joke, better off buying seeds and watching them sprout if you want plants this small.
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
Aug 30, 2022
We are sorry to hear that you are disappointed with the plants received. Our plants are nursery plants cultivated outdoor. The size of the plants on our site is always announced .The plants are always measured from the top to the bottom of the disposable plastic pot the measure are international. Do not worry the order is 1 year guaranteed.
 Verified review
Aug 25, 2022
In a nutshell: two out of four plants I received were diseased (the other two are in quarantine waiting to see if they are also diseased) and customer service was rude and argumentive when I tried to ask for my money back (which I did after I had to threaten legal action and lateral flow tests to prove the diseased status of the plants, why is it always a battle?). The customer service in question replied from the UK, the plants came from the Netherlands, I ordered from gardens4you (dot) ie. To get a response from The UK was bizarre as it's through an IE website and I will certainly be reporting gardens4you for using an IE website to "weare" (dot) ie and the relevant authorities for abusing Irish internet infrastructure and cyberspace. I am also calling out the nursery (ies?) in the Netherlands for their obvious poor care of plants and the many holes in gardens4you in general's Standard Operating Procedures and Policies I can immediately digress from my experience. I tried to bring this to their attention and resolve the dispute quietly but after the experience with the UK customer service and no response from Melvin Jansen who I tried to contact I am now bringing this to the public's attention. Save your money DO NOT buy with Gardens4you, buy local or nationally (most local/national stores are happy to order more exotic plants for you), and support the Irish economy. We as an Irish customer base deserve better than the poor service from the Netherlands and rude customer service from The UK.
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
Aug 26, 2022
We have never disrespected our customers, never. We explained and informed you why the foliage of these 2 Lonicera caerulea Morena was like this with the heat wave we have been experiencing for more than 8 weeks and the drought in Europe. You immediately refuted, refused and openly denigrated our explanations in an implausible way by taking completely irrelevant examples that had nothing to do with your initial complaint. In the end you received a refund of €15 for these 2 plants. Our company is based in the Netherlands and the fact that we manage several sites in Europe is no secret to anyone. Our VAT number and our physical address are visible and published everywhere on the site. We will report your review to Trusted Shop and provide our email conversation, to show that we were never rude and that your comment is simply a free and incomprehensible attack.
 Verified review
Aug 25, 2022
Plants arrived in very poor condition.Have waited three days to see will they come back to life. Very disappointed. Didn't survive seven days in transit.
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
Aug 26, 2022
We are sorry to see that the plants has suffered from the heat during the transit. Please contact our customer service we will be happy to arrange the refund for the damaged good.
 Verified review
Aug 21, 2022
Order placed 14.08.22 - no information if or when items will be dispatched. Obviously items not yet received and I have doubts that I will ever receive them.
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
Aug 26, 2022
Unfortunately you provided an incomplete address without Eircode. An automatic email was sent to you in order to correct the initial address without response from you within 5 days our system has cancelled and refunded the order.
 Verified review
Aug 19, 2022
Very inferior product
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
Aug 26, 2022
The hostas you received are starting to grow it will take 2-4 weeks for you plants to develop more, you ordered them at the end of August this is just the beginning of the growth. On the pictures the new green leaves are already attacked by snails you can't talk about inferior products if you don't take care of your plantations it's important to stay honest and objective.
 Verified review
Aug 17, 2022
The plants are much smaller and look nothing like the photos on the website Chewing gum also stuck to bag around plant, completely disgusting 🤮 I would not recommend this website
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
Aug 26, 2022
The photos on our websites always show a mature product grown outdoors and already planted in the garden to give you an idea of what will happen to the young plants ordered. In hot weather, the leaves of plants, shrubs and trees become stained and dry. This is normal and is the only way for plants to survive the intense heat and drought that Europe has been experiencing for more than 2 months now, we offer 1 year growth guarantee on the plants
 Verified review
Aug 15, 2022
Flowers s came dead well water all right soaked right through .. what waste of money shouldn't of been sold in state they were..
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
Aug 26, 2022
We are sorry to see these plants arrive in good conditions planted in stony, dry soil that does not reflect our planting advice provided. It is clear that the guarantee will not apply to this order, we prefer to be honest.
 Verified review
Aug 9, 2022
 
Arrived on time, plants full of black spot Very disappointed
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
Sep 1, 2022
With the heat of this season all the deciduous hedge plants already have leaves that look like the one usually seen in September, you can't help it, it's a common phenomenon with this variety that always protects itself from the extreme heat. Note that the flowering hedge are deciduous specimens they will loose the leaves soon. Everything will grow back in march-april they are 1 year guaranteed.
 Verified review
Aug 8, 2022
A plant arrived before broken, and My last order has the two Acers withered. The leaves are dry and brittle
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
Sep 2, 2022
With the heat of this season all the deciduous acers already have leaves that look like the one usually seen in September, you can't help it, it's a common phenomenon with this variety that always protects itself from the extreme heat. You opened a PayPal dispute by requesting a full refund of the order, the case was closed in our favor by PayPal based on the information and photos you provided.