gardens4you.ie
Reviews:

718 reviews in the last 12 months5,108 total reviews  

4.39
Good

Trustmark
Valid

Includes Buyer Protection

Certified since: Mar 8, 2013
The Trustmark indicates trustworthy online retailers.
gardens4you.ie fulfils all Trusted Shops quality criteria, including
  • Verified identity
  • Encrypted data transfer
  • Clear ordering process

Trusted Shops Buyer Protection

This company offers Trusted Shops’ buyer protection up to €2,500. Find out how this secures your transaction.

Our mission is to enable digital trust. Find out how reviews work at Trusted Shops.

Top positive review

Aug 14, 2023
 Verified review
Plants were healthy and delivered in just a few days . All good experience from start to finish . Great website ----- good info and timely updates on purchase. I have a 23 year old garden and am by the sea with a windy wet climate so gardening is a challenge . Never very cold but always quite wet . Hydrangeas and Berberis along with a handful of other shrubs and perennials survive nicely here so my garden has always brought me many compliments . My recent purchases from you will of course further enhance my garden.

Top negative review

Jun 7, 2023
 Verified review
Dead,rotten and unrecognisable plants sent!!! I have received my order and I have never seen anything like this before: dead, rotten, mouldy and unrecognisable plants. This must be some joke or I don’t even know what to call it. There is no way, you can plant them. I just want my money back and someone to collect that stuff, as I am not wasting more money to send those plants back. I already paid more than 120 euro.
Our mission is to enable digital trust. Find out how reviews work at Trusted Shops.

Reviews for gardens4you.ie

 Sort by  
Relevance
(39)
(23)
(53)
Reset
BH
Feb 12, 2024
 Verified review
Plants arrived in a good condition
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
Feb 13, 2024
Thank you for your feedback. We're glad to hear that your plants arrived in good condition. If you have any questions or need further assistance, please don't hesitate to reach out. We appreciate your support!
Feb 14, 2024
 Verified review
Plants extremely small
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
Feb 15, 2024
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your concern about the size of the plants you received. It's important to note that during the transition from autumn to winter, many plants enter a dormant phase, leading to a temporary halt in visible growth. This natural process is crucial for the plant's overall health and ensures a strong start when the growing season resumes in spring. The small size you observe is likely a result of this dormancy, and we assure you that, given the right care and conditions, the plants will exhibit robust growth when the season is conducive. If there are specific care instructions provided with your order, following them diligently will contribute to the successful development of your plants.
9 days ago
 Verified review
2 weeks ago I bought flowers from you, 2 small ones are ok, but the large one for 40 euros started to fall after 2 days, the shoots have no roots, it's as if someone just stuck them in the ground, I'm disappointed because this particular flower does not require any special treatment
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
7 days ago
We are truly sorry to hear about your experience with the large flower you purchased from, and we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We strive to provide high-quality products, and it's disappointing to learn that the large plant diOur dedicated team will assist you in finding a suitable solution and addressing your concerns. d not meet your expectations. We assure you that this is not the level of quality we aim to deliver. To resolve this issue promptly, we kindly ask you to reach out to our customer service team with the same photos we will assist you.
Feb 14, 2024
 Verified review
Stop selling non-viable bareroot fruit trees potted and sold without rooting in and with no fibrous roots whatsoever. Customer service attitude accusitoryvand unhelpful
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
Feb 15, 2024
As we have mentioned in our numerous emails, the Persimmon Diospyros Kaki you received is completely normal for the season and had absolutely nothing to do with being placed on the tiling in your house at room temperature. Our plants are cultivated outdoors in nurseries and deserve better than that. The persimmon should have been planted long ago, as stated in our growth guarantee. You are well aware that persimmons do not have leaves or buds in winter, as you ordered it in mid-January when there was frost and snow in the following days, which we regret particularly. You also know that Persimmon Diospyros have few roots and this did not prevent the plant from growing, on the contrary. We have attempted in vain to assist you and respond to you in a professional manner. You refused our proposition to return the plant in order to obtain a full refund. Unfortunately, your comment demonstrates a lack of listening on your part and a willingness to harm our business, which we deeply regret.
11 days ago
 Verified review
Wrong colour flowering plants sent 4 times. Colours do not match website or description.
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
10 days ago
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the color of the flowering plants (Saintpaulia violet) you received . Your feedback is valuable to us, and we regret that the colors did not match what was depicted on our website or described.We have processed a refund for the plants in question. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, and we appreciate your understanding.
SJ
Jan 13, 2024
 Verified review

Sick expensive plant

I ordered expensive plant and they send me sick plant and responding on my complain that it is only discolour after frost which is not true. The plant obviously has black spots.
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
Jan 15, 2024
All our plants are nursery plants cultivated outdoor all year around. We has the last week -6ºC and -10ºC at night and hardy winds. During the winter period, Mahonia media 'Winter Sun' may exhibit some staining or discoloration on its leaves, and this is considered normal you should not be worry. There are a few reasons why this can occur: Mahonia media 'Winter Sun' is a hardy evergreen shrub, but exposure to cold winter temperatures can still cause stress. The cold weather can lead to desiccation (drying out) of the leaves and result in discoloration. In winter, the sunlight levels are generally lower, and plants may not photosynthesize as actively. This reduced photosynthesis can lead to changes in leaf color. As with many evergreen plants, Mahonia leaves have a lifespan, and older leaves may naturally start to show signs of aging, including discoloration. Other environmental factors, such as wind exposure or fluctuations in temperature, can contribute to leaf discoloration. The discoloration is limited to a few leaves and the overall health of the plant appears good, it is likely just a natural response to winter conditions. However, once planted if you observe widespread discoloration or if the plant's health is a concern, just come back to us because the plant is fully guaranteed until May 1, 2024.
Dec 6, 2023
 Verified review

For the amateur gardener a ‘live’ photo the trees I ordered in advance would have very helpful to avoid the disappointment of receiving what are basically 2 very pruned back twigs - I understood there would be no flowers but thought there would be leaves.

For the amateur gardener, a ‘live’ photo in advance of the product I would actually be receiving and not the 2 very pruned back twigs which arrived. I understood there would be no flowers at this time of year on the trees I ordered but assumed at the very least there would be leaves. It transpires that there will be no leaves either for almost 2 years. Entirely unsuitable to be used to enhance my patio at this time. Photos on website very misleading and should have additional commentary for the average customer. A very disappointed customer!
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
Dec 7, 2023
The photos on our site always show mature plants photographed in summer, precisely to give an idea of what the plant will become. Just base your judgement on the weather and the season we're currently in - it's currently 4ºC in Holland - fruit trees are deciduous and always lose their leaves in winter, since our plants are nursery plants grown outdoors. Leaves are solar collectors and enable plants to transform sunlight into energy. In autumn and winter, there's less light and it gets colder. Leaves can no longer produce food for plants. A sort of plug forms at the base of the leaf, preventing sap from circulating. Leaves dry out, stain, become brittle and fall off. Don't worry, once these products have been planted in clean, well-drained soil, the order is guaranteed from the date of purchase until May 1, 2024, giving you plenty of time to come back to us with new photos in the event of non-growth in mid-spring.
Dec 23, 2023
 Verified review

7 of the 15 bare root plants were of very poor quality

The Speedy prompt delivery was cancelled out by the poor quality bareroot plants, they looked more like root cuttings, difficult to distinguish the top from the bottom , see photo. very little information didn’t help either, waste of money
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
Dec 29, 2023
We would like to draw your attention to the response provided by our customer service, which appears to have been overlooked or deliberately disregarded in your recent communication. The information conveyed in the aforementioned response remains accurate, and we kindly request your consideration of the details therein. 2 days ago (Wed, 27 Dec 2023 at 4:31 PM) Customer service reply) Good afternoon, Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us. After reviewing the provided photos, we want to assure you that the appearance of Gypsophila paniculata roots is within the normal range. Prior to planting, we recommend soaking the roots in a bowl of water for approximately four hours. This process helps hydrate and prepare them for successful planting. Despite their initial appearance, Gypsophila paniculata roots possess a natural ability to seek out light, when buried under a layer of soil at a depth of 10-12 centimeters. Rest assured, once these products are planted in well-drained, clean soil, your order is guaranteed from the date of purchase until May 1, 2024. This timeframe provides ample opportunity to monitor growth and address any concerns. We encourage you to reach out with new photos in the event of non-growth in mid-spring. Your satisfaction is our priority, and we appreciate your understanding. If you have further questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us. Best regards, The Customer Service
Dec 10, 2023
 Verified review
Rather small twig like . No sign of life .
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
Dec 11, 2023
Thank you for feedback regarding our nursery plants cultivated outdoors. We appreciate your interest and are here to address any questions or concerns you may have. It's important to note that in winter, especially during temperatures as low as -4ºC, the growth of plants can indeed slow down or even cease. This is a natural response to colder conditions, and certain species may appear twig-like during this period. You just need to protect the base with some mulch or some straw during the winter. Do not worry once planted in a well drained soil the plants will develop mid-spring season we offer guarantee until the 01/05/2024.
Dec 4, 2023
 Verified review

Diseased plants received

I ordered 16 plants from Gardens4You.ie in July. 6 of the plants arrived with browning of the leaves which I naively put down to the 7 day delivery time. Since then the plants got progressively worse & died. I complained to Gardens4You.ie as the plants had obviously arrived with an invasive disease. Their customer service said they couldn't do anything about it. This is very poor customer service.
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
Dec 7, 2023
We regret to inform you that your recent comments have been noted for their inaccuracy and potential harm to our company's reputation. It has come to our attention that you persist in disseminating misleading information about your order, which, we would like to remind you, is covered by a 2-month guarantee. Your order for the conifers was placed in July 2023, and up until last week (December), our customer service had not received any reports of sick plants or delivery issues related to your order. It is crucial to highlight that the conifers were planted in exceptionally hot weather (July) and in unsuitable soil, possibly coupled with the use of fertilizer, which may have resulted in the roots being adversely affected. Contrary to your claims, we have maintained records of your emails explicitly requesting a replacement, which strikes us as peculiar for a customer expressing dissatisfaction with allegedly diseased plants. We would appreciate your cooperation in rectifying the dissemination of false information on various platforms. Your opinion and comments will be duly reported to trusted shops.
Dec 13, 2023
 Verified review

they cancelled order but did not refundcshipping

took money for a plant and courier fwesbthen suddenly refunded money for plant but not courier fees with minimal info or explanation. chasing a refund of courier fee now but should not have to.
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
Dec 14, 2023
Your order has been automatically canceled by our system because the selected product Begonia Magical pink is not authorized for Ireland on the site. The refund of shipping costs is also programmed. According to our system you have received an automatic e-mail on this subject.
Dec 21, 2023
 Verified review

Horrendous company - avoid

Horrendous company - misleading, false advertising and refuses to fix incorrect orders. Have reported to consumer protection commission
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
Dec 22, 2023
We regret to inform you that the plants you received are entirely normal for this stage of development. Regrettably, we have observed instances of insult and threats directed towards our customer service team and, by extension, our company. As a result, we have taken the decision to cease all communication with you. We wish to emphasize our commitment to transparency and adherence to legal standards. Consequently, we are prepared to forward your emails to the relevant authorities, maintaining clarity and compliance with established procedures. Should you choose to return your order, we kindly remind you that this must be done within 14 days from the date of receipt. Please note that the associated return shipping costs will be your responsibility, aligning with the terms and conditions outlined in our warranty policy. This review has been reported to Trusted shops.
Dec 6, 2023
 Verified review

Receieved a refund with no explanation…

Received a refund with no explanation and delivery was not refunded. Very disappointing
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
Dec 7, 2023
You received an automatic email (who maybe arrived in spams or deleted items) because the Poinsettia Jester Red are not allowed for country and Ireland as mentioned on our site. Unfortunately, there's nothing we can do about it.
Dec 10, 2023
 Verified review
Plants were mere cuttings
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
Dec 11, 2023
It's important to note that in winter, especially during temperatures as low as -4ºC, the growth of plants like rhododendron can indeed slow down or even cease. This is a natural response to colder conditions, and certain species may appear twig-like during this period. You just need to protect the base with some mulch or some straw during the winter. Do not worry once planted in a well drained soil the plants will develop mid-spring season we offer guarantee until the 01/05/2024.
Dec 24, 2023
 Verified review
Not delivered
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
Dec 29, 2023
Thank you for bringing your concern to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced with the delivery of your parcel. To better assist you and investigate the matter with DPD, we kindly ask that you contact our customer service directly. Please provide your full shipping address and any relevant details about your order. Our team is committed to resolving this issue promptly.
Nov 8, 2023
 Verified review
My wife ordered a XL Pot but didnt check the size, XL = 18cm which is a very small pot. She thought also it was an Irish site but was not had an Irish domain .ie but its actually Dutch she paid shipping and must pay for the return also. So not worth the expense to return (12euro to get it and 16 to return 28E shipping fees). Two points XL is not 18cm and .ie domain but returns shipping to NL is very expensive but shipping to IE would have been half the price.. Ended up having to keep the small pot :-)... If ordering make sure of everything chances are you are not returning the item.... Apart from that nice people...nice goods
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
Nov 8, 2023
Thank you for providing your feedback. Upon reviewing your concerns, it appears there was a discrepancy in pot size perception. We understand that you initially measured the pot in inches, and we want to clarify that our website specifies a 18cm diameter, not the 7cm that was initially perceived. The 18cm ceramic pots are labeled as XL on our site to ensure transparency and avoid any confusion in the product description. Our company, based in the Netherlands, proudly displays its physical address on the website. We adhere to tax regulations in all countries we ship to, contributing to the local economies, including Ireland and Europe. Regarding return policies, as outlined in our terms and conditions, if an error arises from the customer's end, the return is at their expense. However, should a mistake occur on our part, we are committed to covering the costs of replacement or providing a full refund. Your satisfaction is our priority, and we appreciate your understanding in this matter.
Nov 3, 2023
 Verified review
Your delivery partner was very poor. The shipment arrived in parts over the course of a week with one of the heather's half dead. On of the delivery drivers left them upside down. When queried and brought to his attention the box said live plant and upright arrows, he shrugged and said "they've been thrown all over the van all day".
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
Nov 3, 2023
Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you've experienced with our delivery partner. We deeply regret that the condition of your shipment did not meet our usual standards. We take such matters seriously, and we will address this issue with our delivery partner to ensure that corrective measures are taken. Your feedback is invaluable to us, and we appreciate your patience as we work to rectify this situation. Once again, we apologize for any frustration caused, and we are committed to ensuring a more positive experience for you in the future.
Nov 1, 2023
 Verified review
The plants that I ordered looked nothing like what website shows. Basically, recieved 2 stick with a few leaves. Very very disappointing!!! You need to show what the plants look like instead of the mature version. Will not be ordering from your company again.
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
Nov 2, 2023
Our website, like all other plant websites in Europe, always showcases a mature version of the product you are purchasing, whether it's perennial plants, shrubs, or trees. When you select a product, its description includes information about its size and the diameter of its pot. Our plants are nursery-grown, cultivated outdoors year-round. Between September and February, the plants go into senescence and cease active growth that's why we offer a longer shelf life for plants purchased between september and February with complete transparency for over 30 years.
Apr 20, 2023
 Verified review

Good site, with some room for improvement

The information is not consistent. It says Non poisonous and Poisonous in two different places for the same plants. Also the website is scrappy, it signs out automatically after some time and clears the shopping cart. I like to take my time selecting plants after considering several factors. It was annoying to lose all the items in the cart just when you're ready to add another few. Finally, the pricing is inconsistent too in terms of value - some plants are good value, some are overpriced. I'm planting a new largish garden, and wanted to pick up all plants from here to make the most of the shipping price however some were too pricey to consider. Guess I'll have to go to the neighbourhood garden centre for those
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
May 2, 2023
Thank you for your feedback. Let's face it, 70% of the plant kingdom contains plants that are poisonous or dangerous if ingested alone. And 70% of these plants are found every day in our homes and gardens without any accident, because this is very rare in the whole world.If your shopping cart is empty it would be necessary to accept the cookies and not to block them check this in your internet browser and in your options.
Oct 1, 2023
 Verified review
My plants were shipped on the 18th September but I didn’t receive them until the 27th !!! This seems a very long time considering I only live in Cork !! Also I am disappointed with the size of the Percy Wiseman Rhododendron…. It’s tiny , compared to the Rhododendron Sappho !!! ( see photos ) The Azalea, mollis Orange is quite scraggy and floppy . Also soil has separated from edges of all 4 plants . I feel these plants may have sat in a dpd van for a few days before they were delivered to me . Overall , disappointed with my first experience with gardens 4 you , I spent approx €60 on 4 plants including delivery and expected bigger and better quality plants for my money .
Report review
Answer by gardens4you.ie
Oct 2, 2023
Thank you for your feedback. Our plants are nursery-grown, nurtured from the outside, and they grow at their own pace, each specimen or variety has its own growth pattern. They are designed to endure over time, lasting for 10, 15, or even 20 years. You have a guarantee until May 1, 2024, and you will see that these plants will be exceptional in the spring.