gardens4you.ie

Details
Contact
Contact
Bulbs Direct B.V.
Achterweg Zuid 33c
2161DXLisse
Netherlands
Authorised representative
M.E.C. Jansen

Reviews for gardens4you.ie

4.38 / 5.00
Fair
How is the rating calculated?

275 reviews in the last 12 months

70 %
14 %
6 %
4 %
5 %
692 total reviews

What other customers say about their experience with gardens4you.ie

Sort order Latest first 
It’s good. Prices are reasonable but the quality of product needs to improve highly. I ordered 15 Magnolia plants. Most of the plants look like a joke. They look like small tiny stick standing On pot , hardly call a plant. Also few of them Already came out from the pot when delivered. But they easily can improve these matter with some little determination.
 
 Verified review|
 Answer by gardens4you.ie
3 months ago
Our plants are nursery plants cultivated outside. In this month of October the weather is cold, rainy and grey the lack of light makes that the magnolias are less developed than the other years maybe, reassure you they are guaranteed until 2020 like all our perennials plants/shrubs and trees.
4 months ago
Plants did not look fresh..leaves are already yellow and some leaves ďroped inside the package itself. Not very happy with the product .
 
 Verified review|
 Answer by gardens4you.ie
3 months ago
It is normal in September and even earlier in the season (especially when temperatures are 8ºC at night) that the leaves of plants change color and fall, autumn is here and it is undeniable. Rest assure we always offer 1 year guaranty, the plants will be beautiful again in the spring.
4 months ago
Relatively happy with my purchase, even if one of the plants looks like it was packed upside down & much of the soil had spilled out. Plants looked a little traumatized by their journey but I think they just need a little tlc. I'll hold off a full judgement of my purchase until my rose bushes take root & begin to settle into their new surroundings.
 
 Verified review|
 Answer by gardens4you.ie
4 months ago
If the plants do not establish in the next growing season, please contact our customerservice under your guarantee.
I am seriously disabled & asked the courier to bring the box of plants into my sitting room; he did not hut instead left them just inside my front door, thus barring egress & ingress for two days. THAT constitutes a major violation of Fire Regulations. Please tell your couriers about Disability Rights & fire safety I am pleased with my plants, but fearful of deliveryfearful, got that?
 
 Verified review|
6 months ago
The delivery was a bit delayed and I couldn't track my order. Overall I am happy to receive my plants and they look good..
 
 Verified review|
 Answer by gardens4you.ie
6 months ago
Parcel can be track online on www.dpd.ie if you do not received the automatic email confirmation just contact our customer service, we will be happy to give you the link for the courier company.
7 months ago
the box was damaged and open so a couple of the plants looked battered.
 
 Verified review|
 Answer by gardens4you.ie
7 months ago
Please contact our customer service with some photos if any plants are damaged we will be happy to contact dpd regarding the parcel and in the same time to resend to you the damaged items free of charge.
The 2 bonsai suffered the losses of small branches... cannot comment on customers service just yet. Delivery was on time.
 
 Verified review|
 Answer by gardens4you.ie
7 months ago
We always offer 3 month of guaranty for all the house plants and bonsai. If you have any problem with these 2 specimens received just come back to us on time with some photo evidence we will be happy to apply the guaranty Gardens4you.
8 months ago
Though i was ordering from Ireland, but actually came from Netherlands with 1 week delivery time
 
 Verified review|
8 months ago
I received my delivery with 6 plants missing (of 25 ordered), i emailed Garden4you support (twice) with no response in 3 days. Called the phone number on the .ie site which didnt work, then called the phone number on the .co.uk site several times which is never answered. Finally called the Norwegian number and got talking to someone who organised a further delivery (with a couple of extra plants
 
 Verified review|
 Answer by gardens4you.ie
7 months ago
You must be mistaken we do not have Norwegian phone number we have arranged the new shipping via the email that you have send to us, we are sorry the hight season is very busy and sometimes an answer can take more time especially if we have to communicate with dpd before for a lost parcel like in this case.
8 months ago
Really upset that my order never came.. Seemingly lost in transit. I really looked forward to owning Oxalis Triangularis as I find them so beautiful.. And they're out of stock most of the time. Feel reluctant to order again in fear another order will be lost as delivery cost is very high. Customer service about this issue were good, however, and said a refund is already in the works.
 
 Verified review|
8 months ago
All delphiniums were all dry and dead, seriously disappointing
 
 Verified review|
 Answer by gardens4you.ie
8 months ago
We are sorry to hear that your plants arrived in poor condition. Rest assured your order is guaranteed. Please contact our customer service.
8 months ago
My plant was delivered in good time, in fair condition. It was, however, a much smaller and shorter plant than the one I'd ordered. In fact, it didn't match the website's description at all - it was supposed to have been up to 165cm and arrived at 130cm including pot. This was disappointing I contacted gardens4you.ie to register my complaint, and have heard precisely nothing since. V poor service
 
 Verified review|
 Answer by gardens4you.ie
8 months ago
We are sorry to hear that the plant was delivered smaller than advertised. Our customer service will be in touch for a satisfying soloution. Rest assured your order is guaranteed!
Very poor value for money...Too expensive i think..Seen a more developed and mature plants for a lot less. Especially after just purchasing apple trees(sticks), about 20" tall...DPD are good along with delivery timescale stated..
 
 Verified review|
 Answer by gardens4you.ie
8 months ago
We are sorry to hear that you are disappointed with the plants received. We can confirm that you have ordered young plants that will grow this spring. Rest assured your order is guaranteed!
9 months ago
Items came in a very typical package, the courier left it outside my door without even ringing me. I was at home whole day waiting, and leave a text on my phone stating he left near the door. Items were not as expected looking at the cost and shipment cost. could have ordered from Ireland itself.
 
 Verified review|
9 months ago
Plants a bit squeezed
 
 Verified review|
I was disappointed that the majority of my order didn’t arrive for five days. Furthermore when they did arrive the packaging was damaged and soil fell out of two of the pots. The Lavender that was supplied did not appear anything like what was shown or described on the website. Overall my experience with garden4you was not a positive one.
 
 Verified review|
 Answer by gardens4you.ie
10 months ago
We are sorry to hear that you was disappointed with your order, all orders placed on our website are guaranteed. Please contact our customer service with some photos of the damaged plants and we will submit a replacement or a refund. Note that lavender plants in winter period are not in flowers and cannot be like the photos in February.
10 months ago
I bought 5 plants, the elephant ear plant had lots of broken damaged leaves, and the bonsai tree had nearly all the clay out of the pot.
 
 Verified review|
 Answer by gardens4you.ie
10 months ago
We offer guaranty on all orders placed on our website if you have any doubt of problem with your order just take contact with our customer service we will be happy to help you.